Freedom Virginia Announces 2023 Candidate Endorsements

Advocacy Organization Backs Candidates who are Champions for Hardworking Virginians and Economic Freedom

RICHMOND, Va. — Freedom Virginia, a 501(c)4 organization committed to building a Commonwealth where all Virginia families have the freedom to thrive, today announced the organization is endorsing candidates in the 2023 state legislative races. Freedom Virginia is especially proud to lift up Prescription Drug Affordability Champions Senator Chap Petersen, Senator Creigh Deeds, Delegate Karrie Delaney, Delegate Rodney Willett and former Delegate Nadarius Clark. These elected officials played a major leadership role on bills to establish a Prescription Drug Affordability Board in Virginia.

Rhena Hicks, executive director of Freedom Virginia released the following statement:

“We are proud to support these champions for economic freedom and look forward to working with them to help them win as we communicate to voters about their work to make Virginia a more affordable place to live. All of these candidates have shown they are fighters for hardworking Virginians. Both individually and collectively, they will be a powerful voice for affordability in Richmond and in their communities. We know they will uphold Freedom Virginia’s values of advancing economic freedom through policies like establishing a higher minimum wage, lowering prescription drug and energy costs, and increasing access to universal paid sick leave.”

Freedom Virginia is endorsing the following candidates for the June 20th Primary Election: 
Sen. Creigh Deeds (SD-11)
Fmr. Del. Lashrecse Aird (SD-13)
Sen. Lamont Bagby (SD-14)
Sen. Jeremy McPike (SD-29)
Russet Perry (SD-31)
Del. Suhas Subramanyam (SD-32)
Fmr. Del. Jennifer Carroll Foy (SD-33)
Heidi Drauschak (SD-35)
Sen. Chap Petersen (SD-37)
Sen. Barbara Favola (SD-40)
Laura Jane Cohen (HD-15)
Kannan Srinivasan (HD-26)
Katrina E Callsen (HD-54)
Amy Laufer (HD-55)
Rae Cousins (HD-79)
Destiny LeVere Bolling (HD-80)
Del. Delores McQuinn (HD-81)
Victor McKenzie (HD-82)
Fmr. Del. Nadarius Clark (HD-84)
Fmr. Del. Alex Askew (HD-95)

Freedom Virginia is endorsing the following candidates for the November 7th General Election: 
Sen. Ghazala Hashmi (SD-15)
Del. Schuyler VanValkenburg (SD-16)
Del. Clint Jenkins (SD-17)
Victoria Luevanos (SD-20)
Sen. Aaron Rouse (SD-22)
Sen. Mamie Locke (SD-23)
Sen. Monty Mason (SD-24)
Del. Danica Roem (SD-30)
Sen. Scott Surovell (SD-34)
Sen. Jennifer Boysko (SD-38)
Del. Patrick Hope (HD-1)
Adele McClure (HD-2)
Del. Alfonso Lopez (HD-3)
Del. Elizabeth Bennett-Parker (HD-5)
Del. Rip Sullivan (HD-6)
Del. Irene Shin (HD-8)
Del. Karrie Delaney (HD-9)
Del. Holly Seibold (HD-12)
Del. Dan Helmer (HD-10)
Del. Marcus Simon (HD-13)
Del. Vivian Watts (HD-14)
Del. Paul Krizek (HD-16)
Del. Michelle Maldonado (HD-20)
Joshua E Thomas (HD-21)
Travis Nembhard (HD-22)
Atoosa Reaser (HD-27)
Marty Martinez (HD-29)
Del. Sam Rasoul (HD-38)
Lily Franklin (HD-41)
Del. Rodney Willett (HD-58)
Rachel Levy (HD-59)
Fmr. Del. Joshua Cole (HD-65)
Del. Shelly Simonds (HD-70)
Jessica Anderson (HD-71)
Debra Gardner (HD-76)
Michael Jones (HD-77)
Del. Betsy Carr (HD-78)
Del. Jeion Ward (HD-87)
House Democratic Leader Don Scott (HD-88)
Karen Lynette Jenkins (HD-89)
Phil Hernandez (HD-94)
Michael Feggans (HD-97)

Brigid Godfrey

Brigid Godfrey

Communications Director

Help get the word out by sharing


Yes Virginia, the Senate has passed a budget

After months of deliberation, the Virginia General Assembly passed their 2022-2024 biennial budget June 1, making several noteworthy investments in middle-class families. The budget passed in the Senate on a

Workers Deserve a More Affordable Virginia

RICHMOND, Va. — In honor of Labor Day, Freedom Virginia Executive Director Rhena Hicks today issued the following statement renewing the organization’s call for an economy in which all hardworking people can thrive: “Today